1/52: The wacky-wakka advice

As promised to the Self, here comes the first of the 52 posts I hope to write this 2011: What’s the wackiest advice you’ve ever heard?

Well, it’s not exactly a wacky advice; it’s more of the clumsy execution of a perfectly sensible advice from the YouTube beauty guru, Michelle Phan.

I was looking for a cheap DIY remedy for blackheads in YouTube when I found this video. Why did I look for skin care advice in YouTube? I really don’t know. It seemed the most sensible thing to do at that time. LOL.

Anyhow, this being a Michelle Phan video (I think she’s really pretty and cool. Major girl crush much? :D), I  couldn’t wait to try it out. I took to scouting the ingredients at home. Milk and gelatin powder were easy enough. The rest, however, I needed to improvise. We don’t have a microwave at home, so I decided to steam the sticky milk-gelatin mix over boiling water.

I got past the mixing part easily but had problems with the boiling water sans microwave part. Instead of turning into a gooey and pasty mix, I actually cooked the entire thing. No biggie, I think. I poured some water, diluting the colloidal substance into something that looked more liquid than solid.

And this is why I am typing out my Post a Week entry with goo all over my face. It’s drying out well but instead of peeling evenly, it breaks apart at the slightest touch. No blackheads and impurities eliminated there. Just clumps of dried gelatin – it reminds me of those facial prosthesis used for monsters in horror movies. But then again, it’s made of milk, so it may work a different kind of miracle on my skin, yes?

Pictures? No, thank you. Having my mom see my facial muscles semi-suspended by gelatin is embarrassment enough.

I’m not giving up though. I’ve still got a full packet of gelatin powder ready to go. I just need to fix our old toaster. YouTube videos on how to fix broken toasters, anyone?

At the very least, my face smells nice. I just hope I won’t attract an army of ants later in my sleep.

Leave a Reply

