The crisp and clean pages of awesome

I love the smell of books in the morning

The books I ordered from National Bookstore Online arrived today and it brightened up an otherwise ho-hum Tuesday. When it comes to receiving a square package wrapped in a hot pink plastic, my reaction remains pretty much the same – a yelp, a jump off a chair and a crazy dance ala the cancan.

I’ve been ordering a lot of books off the internet lately, thanks to officemates who graciously lend me their credit cards because I’m too lazy to get one of my own. At first, I was little apprehensive at the thought of handing out personal details to a faceless system but after I pulled it off successfully, my book sprees have become increasingly frequent. I crave for a book every month and I can’t focus on work until I hit the checkout button. Say hello to the start of a vicious habit.

These book binges are the single most expensive habit I have had to date and it has done quite a lot of damage to my tightly budgeted budget. The lack of a decent bookstore in the city has deprived me the pleasures of reading for the longest time so I really don’t mind the exorbitant shipping fee and my ballooning expenses. Where people see shoes, clothes and bags, I see books. Lots of them. It’s that simple.

The books I have today are Chuck Palahniuk’s Pygmy and Neil Gaiman’s The Dream Hunters, with illustrations from Yoshitaka Amano.  I initially got these orders lined up at Fullybooked but I couldn’t check them out /pulls at hair. It turned out to be a good thing after all – I didn’t realize that I was ordering a hardcover of Pygmy, priced at around P800+, until I moseyed over National Bookstore and found a mass paperback version for P289. Magnificent deal, yes? Anyhow, the mass paperback is not as pretty as the hardcover is bound to be, but who cares as long as I get to read it.

It took me half a day to decide on The Dream Hunters. I was thinking of ordering the Sandman series – I’ve been crushing on it since college – but decided on this stand-alone novella because it had Yoshitaka Amano’s illustrations in it. I reneged on an earlier promise to take it easy on the book purchases when I hatched up Operation Sandman (one Sandman comic for each month). But as my officemate pointed out, the shipping fee alone will kill me so it’s back to square one – save and scrimp for a possible December purchase.

So far, I’ve bought five books online and I’m thinking of allocating a special shelf space for them when I begin fixing my bedroom. The Shadow of the Wind and The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell and the latest two books pictured above. My babies via online delivery LOL.

I am so happy, I can’t stop grinning. Like, seriously. Anyhow, I can’t help but remember this closing credits from one of Community’s episodes when I think of books. I can listen to it all day /grins like a fucknut

5 thoughts on “The crisp and clean pages of awesome

  1. Hello??! Wala kayang bookstore dito sa Zamboanga, so what choice do I have? Unless you can send me some books, out of the goodness of your heart, then go! Haha

    My gahd, English blogger! Sige, sige, emo post of the year you say? >:D

  2. Word on paper is definitely unappreciated today, no thanks to the tablets but can’t argue with mobility and the space it saves on my room. I’d take Neil Gaiman any day, but might have to eat sugar to tackle Palahniuk. Thanks for dropping by and commenting – if you didn’t, I wouldn’t have known your treasure of a blog. Thanks!

  3. Pen: It isn’t – YET. Hrhrhr. I’m on chapter two pa lang in Pygmy. It’s a hard read pala. Have you read Survivor na?

    Faith: Thanks, that’s very sweet of you! Ebooks aren’t really my cup of tea but I’m old fashioned like that. If someone gives me a Kindle maybe, yes? Palahniuk is just a recent discovery, still getting used to him. Gaiman is, well, Gaiman. Any other authors that you can recommend? *getting ready for February’s book binge*

    Thanks for dropping by as well! I really appreciate it :)

Leave a Reply

