Hare Hare Yukai therapy to spread excitement all over the world and a 25-inch waist

March was eventful only because it dragged me through the murky depths of self-loathing. Thankfully, I found this during one of my lonely forays in YouTube:

Who needs friends when you have Ono Daisuke dancing the Hare Hare Yukai? LOLS /joking

Yes, Ono Daisuke. This dorky and adorable seiyuu is my current obsession after the fleeting affair that was Osamu Mukai. The significance of this absolute fangirl moment is lost to my officemates – that’s the one thing that sucks the most when you don’t have friends who share your passion for anything and everything geeky. You end up looking silly because you have to smother a smile when you come across a particularly adorable picture of Ono Daisuke. When I point out that the video is great because the seiyuus are acting and dancing as their animated counterparts, all I get is a polite nod. Me, I go:

MAXIMUM HAPPINESS

It’s funny because despite the gloom that plagued me for most of March, my mood is getting major doses of rainbows and sunshine when I do activities that involve – wait for it – Ono Daisuke. I re-watch anime that he has starred in, hunt YouTube videos for seiyuu events that feature him, read Kuroshitsuji, listen to Dear Girl Stories and obsess over Durarara. My favorite is the ‘Spot Ono Daisuke’ game. It’s basically looking though tons of seiyuu pictures and spotting the ones that have OnoD in them. And since I don’t have anyone to share this game with, I have taken to playing it with an imaginary friend. I am such a fangirl. I need help I know. LOLS.

Somehow, this blog has become a disturbing gushing post about my love for OnoD’s inherent kyotness. But honestly, that wasn’t the intention.

What I really wanted to talk about was the Hare Hare Yukai dance. I don’t dance but in the universe where there is Hare Hare Yukai, I am compelled to. I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of this video – my day brightens a tad bit everytime I see it, a virtual Prozac if you will. I downloaded the clip in my iPod and have been playing it on loop like crazy. Good move too! I memorized the steps and can dance it with relative grace. Hyok, hyok, hyok.

The dance itself is pretty short but it’s so fast-paced and energetic that after three rounds of Hare Hare Yukai madness in the privacy of my bedroom, I ended up huffing, puffing and sweating, as if I just emerged from a furious Tae-Bo routine. I also ended up with a nearly-twisted ankle from all the jumping I did. Seeing how my face resembled a lobster from all my exertions, my mother suggested that I do the Hare Hare Yukai every morning as an exercise routine. Not so much as to make me slim down but to combat my increasingly sedentary lifestyle.

Somewhere along those lines, a light bulb lit up. If you are as crazy about the Hare Hare Yukai as me, then you’ll know that getting the moves right is a very satisfying achievement. Plus, exercise is bound to chase those blues away. Combine that with the innate cheerfulness of the video itself, dancing the Hare Hare Yukai is like taking a double dose of sunshine. I may lose weight (and my ankle haha) in the process and that’s always a welcome development.  I can do three to five rounds of Hare Hare Yukai in the morning, jog a little in the afternoon if the weather cooperates and eat more vegetables to be healthy. HOHYESS. The road to healthy living starts with Hare Hare Yukai. Now, if only I can kick the junk food habit.

So if I ever go below 50 kilos, you know how I did it. House chores, stress, jogging and endless rounds of Hare Hare Yukai!

I’m Haruhi Suzumiya, from East Junior High. First off, I’m not interested in ordinary people. But, if any of you are aliens, time-travelers, or espers, please come see me. That is all! – Episode 1: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya

3 thoughts on “Hare Hare Yukai therapy to spread excitement all over the world and a 25-inch waist

Leave a Reply

