In Your Face, So Says The Lord

Honestly, my title is not meant to be blasphemous.

I got a gentle nudge from Himself today. While in Davao, I kept texting my mother – don’t worry, I’ll be home on the 30th. Ma, my flight will arrive at 3 pm.

To which, my mom will always reply, God willing.

See, I kept saying this will happen, I will do this, we will do that. I kept taking things in my own hands. I’m a Power Ranger, I’m a superwoman. See me work, hear me roar.

So, wasn’t it a pleasant shock when I got to the airport and learned that my flight got cancelled?

In your face, Jas.

It was a gentle reminder and a gentle rebuke. Hey, little girl. It’s not your call.

After that humbling lesson, Himself still made a way for me. Everything still fell into place without me lifting a finger. Instead of a connecting flight via Manila on the next day, I got waitlisted and was given the very last available seat on another flight leaving that very afternoon for Zamboanga. To top it off, a fellow passenger who was waitlisted as well was very sympathetic – she gave me some food and coffee during the flight.

In your face, Jas. But don’t worry, dearling, I got it all covered. I’ll still get you home.

I am grateful for the gentle reminder. See how I emphasize gently. I could have been really stranded in Davao, with only one grand left in my pocket. But thankfully, I am home.

I hope I can have my relationship with God back. Another shot, perhaps?

I’ve got a paper for work to finish. I’ve got a life to live. I’ve got dreams to travel. But I am tired of trying to get everything done by myself.

So Lord, with your grace, help me to entrust my life and dreams to you.

Pagod na ako. Ikaw na bahala.

Leave a Reply

