Howl

My hometown is under attack. On what was going to be the best week of my life – because, hello, I was turning 27 – hostile elements swarmed in my City and basically, fucked everything.

It’s been a surreal week – I can’t believe it’s already been a week of curfews and gunfire. Dealing with violence that hits so close to home and at so grand a scale drains you, physically and emotionally. I am still functioning, but not really. I go to work but I do my responsibilities on a table that is not mine because it’s too dangerous to go to City Hall. Instead of being independent, I now need someone to take me home each and every night because we have a curfew.

I still watch television, but I tune in mostly to news. I no longer watch comedies because at this time and in this context, it seems obscene to laugh and be merry. I eat, but I can no longer savor food. How could I, when I know that somebody else deserves this roasted chicken more than me? Fuck you for not caring. Fuck me for not caring.

I am still processing everything that has happened. I will probably write something about this experience because I will need the therapy and the catharsis of bleeding out words. But that’s for another time. Right now, I need to do something else, something that does not involve thinking.

And feeling.

Or both.

Tomorrow is another day. But maybe it’s going to be THE day. Fingers are crossed.

Leave a Reply

